Why Travel?

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.” -Marcel Proust

As, I sit here and realize my departure date is only one week away, I have started to think about what type of journey I am about to embark on. How will it shape me? How will it impact my life? I began to think of this idea of travel. Why does my sister have this strange passion for it? What motivates people to completely stop their lives to travel? Why do we long for this type of exploration?

To me, travel means this: to seek other lives, souls, and cultures. I travel to discover, to understand people, to understand our world. In starting to pack for this 6 month journey, I cannot help but think how it will affect me. I hope I come back with a new set of eyes, a new outlook on life, the world, the people around me, but most importantly, a new outlook on myself. I travel for me.

I have a feeling 2013 is going to be a good year! As the year comes to a close, I look back on who I have become, and look forward to who I will become. I think about the relationships I have developed, the friends I have made, and the people I am so fortunate to be surrounded by everyday. Those people help shape me. Shout out to my friends and family. Thanks for your everlasting love and support! Love you all!

Follow my blog to stay up to date all semester long on my shenanigans (let’s be real, it’s me) and adventures in my new life, as a spaniard! I will keep you updated by posting pictures and blog posts so you can hear about my whereabouts. Feel free to comment on my posts too and let me know what you have been up to!!

While I am in Spain, you can contact me via facebook, email or skype

xoxoxo (abrazos y besos)

Leave a Reply

